Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities

Cessnock City Council acknowledges that within its local government area boundaries are the Traditional Lands of the Wonnarua people, the Awabakal people and the Darkinjung people. We acknowledge these Aboriginal peoples as the Traditional Custodians of the land on which our offices and operations are located, and pay our respects to Elders past, present and future.  We also acknowledge all other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who now live within the Cessnock Local Government Area.