Councillors

Meet your Mayor and Councillors! Click on the images below to find out more about your local representatives.

Bob Pynsent

Mayor

  • Telephone02 4993 4210
  • Alternate Phone0408 267 532
  • Email bob.pynsent@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Bob Pynsent believes his role as Mayor is to build a better community for groups of all ages and backgrounds.

Paul Dunn

Councillor - Ward A

  • Telephone0408 679 927
  • Email paul.dunn@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Paul Dunn believes that rate payers come first and foremost and aims to represent them and their opinions.

Mark Lyons

Councillor - Ward A

  • Telephone0417 083 073
  • Email mark.lyons@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Mark Lyons' priorities are improvements that meet the needs of our rapidly growing population.

Ian Olsen

Councillor - Ward B

  • Telephone0408 333 583
  • Email ian.olsen@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Ian Olsen is passionate about improving local roads and making sure our LGA has developments that add to the quality of life.

Jay Suvaal

Councillor - Ward B

  • Telephone0417 126 211
  • Email jay.suvaal@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Jay Suvaal wants to encourage more jobs in the Cessnock region so locals can remain local.

John Fagg

Councillor - Ward C

  • Telephone0409 254 894
  • Email john.fagg@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor John Fagg is focussed on keeping the Cessnock Local Government Area in a strong position in the broader Hunter Region.

Melanie Dagg

Deputy Mayor, Councillor - Ward C

  • Telephone0409 404 898
  • Email melanie.dagg@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Melanie Dagg serves the community with the hope of instilling greater confidence in its elected representatives.

Anne Sander

Councillor - Ward C

  • Telephone0408 970 625
  • Email anne.sander@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Anne Sander is committed to improving the experience of all residents and visitors in the Cessnock Local Government Area.

Darrin Gray

Councillor - Ward D

  • Telephone0409 548 374
  • Email darrin.gray@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Darrin Gray is committed to the economic, social and environmental sustainability for our future generations.

Rod Doherty

Councillor - Ward D

  • Telephone0409 632 786
  • Email rod.doherty@cessnock.nsw.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Rod Doherty has a keen interest in economic development activities and believes in providing employment opportunities.

Councillors are elected by residents of the Cessnock LGA every four years to represent the interests of the community. Our LGA is divided into four areas called ‘Wards’ and each ward has three Councillors to represent the people within these areas.