What's On


Local government has been in operation in the Cessnock area since 1906 when the Shire of Cessnock held its first meeting. 

During the following years there were several amalgamations and splits as new Shires were formed and reshaped until Cessnock was declared a City in 1958.

What does Council do?

Cessnock City Council provides a diverse range of services and facilities for the residents of the LGA as well as visitors to the area. Councils across Australia are now responsible for much more than just the three 'R's' - rates, roads and rubbish.

Below are just some of Council's responsibilities:

  • Waste management and recycling
  • Land use planning
  • Cultural services and facilities including libraries and performing arts theatre
  • Building and development control
  • Companion animals legislation
  • Food and public health legislation
  • Sporting fields and ovals
  • Parks and gardens, including play equipment
  • Construction and maintenance of roads, paths, cycle ways and bridges
  • Economic development
  • Aquatic leisure facilities
  • Youth services

The structure of Council

Cessnock City Council comprises two areas – the elected representatives (Councillors) and the administration (staff).


Councillors are elected by residents of the LGA every four years, with the Mayor being elected by popular vote. In the Cessnock LGA there are four wards where three Councillors are elected to represent the interests of those who live in each ward while the Mayor is elected to represent the whole community. Cessnock City Council therefore has the Mayor and 12 Councillors making up the Council.

For details about your Councillors, please click here.


The administrative section of Council is led by the General Manager. The General Manager is responsible for the efficient, effective and sustainable operation of the Council in providing services and facilities for the community. The General Manager is also responsible for ensuring that the decisions of the Councillors are implemented.