Australia Day Citizenship and Awards Ceremony

Australia Day Awards

Cessnock City Council's Australia Day Ceremony includes our biggest citizenship ceremony of the year and the Australia Day Awards Ceremony.

The citizenship ceremony is where our newest citizens make their Pledges of Commitment. It is the final and most exciting step in gaining Australian citizenship, and will see 18 local residents join thousands of migrants across the country to become Australia’s newest citizens during the 75th anniversary of Australian citizenship.

After our new citizens have officially finished their pledges, we will announce the recipients of our annual Australia Day Awards at an official ceremony.

These awards recognise those who are working hard to make a real difference in our community. Awardees are nominated by fellow members of the Cessnock community, signifying the community's appreciation of recipients' efforts.

Cessnock City Mayor Jay Suvaal will be handing out awards and greeting our newest citizens. The event will include a performance by singer/songwriter Tara Naysmith. This year's Australia Day ambassadors are the founders of Mama Lana's Community Foundation, Lana and Roger Borg. 

After the Australia Day Awards Ceremony, a morning tea will be held in the PACC foyer.

To book your free ticket to attend this year's Australia Day Awards Ceremony, please visit this link.


  • Friday, 26 January 2024 | 10:00 AM


PACC, 198 Vincent Street, Cessnock, View Map

Google Map
Tagged as: