Volunteer with us

Cessnock City Council facilitates a number of community-based committees to assist with the operation of some of its facilities, such as tennis courts and community halls, Marthaville Arts and Cultural Centre, and Tidy Towns. 

Council is currently looking for volunteers to join any of its 18 community committees. Volunteering involves differing tasks depending on the type of committee. The committees, known as s355 volunteer management committees, include:

Community Halls and Mulbring Tennis Courts
  • Booking enquiries
  • Cleaning and facility inspections
  • Reporting maintenance items
  • Collection of hire fees
  • Engagement with regular hirers
  • Attending regular committee meetings

Marthaville Arts & Cultural Centre
  • Facility usage management
  • Reporting maintenance items
  • General cleaning and organising grounds keeping
  • Engagement with regular hirers
  • Attending regular committee meetings

Tidy Towns
  • Improving the image of the town (litter collection, park upgrades, etc.)
  • Heritage conservation and promotion
  • Bush regeneration

A number of public meetings will be held for anyone who is interested in getting involved and joining a committee:


Venue of Meeting

Time & Date of Meeting

Abermain Plaza Hall and Abermain Tidy Towns

Abermain Plaza Hall, 3 Bathurst St, Abermain


Bellbird Community Hall

Bellbird Community Hall, Wollombi Rd, Bellbird

Wednesday 20 July at 10am

Branxton Community Hall

Branxton Community Hall, 35 Bowen Street, Branxton

Friday 15 July at 1.30pm

Cessnock Tidy Town

Cessnock City Council, Council Chambers (Ante Room)

Monday 20 June at 5.30pm

Crawfordville Community Hall Millfield and Millfield Tidy Towns

Crawfordville Community Hall, Crawford Ave, Millfield

Friday 15 July at 7 pm

Kearsley Community Hall and Kearsley Tidy Towns

Kearsley Community Hall, 22 Allandale St, Kearsley

Wednesday 13 July at 5pm

Kurri Kurri Senior Citizens Hall

Kurri Kurri Senior Citizens Hall, 132 Barton Street, Kurri Kurri

Monday 11 July at 10.30am

 Laguna Community Hall  Laguna Community Hall 3734 Great North Road, Laguna  Tuesday 19 July 3.30pm

Marthaville Arts and Cultural Centre

Marthaville Arts and Cultural Centre, 200 Wollombi Road, Cessnock

Wednesday 13 July at 4:30pm

Mulbring Tennis Courts

Mulbring Tennis Courts, Mulbring

Tuesday 12 July at 5.30pm

North Cessnock Community Hall

North Cessnock Community Hall, Church Street, Cessnock

Monday 18 July at 10am

North Rothbury Tidy Town

Ayrfield Miners Memorial Park, Rothbury Street, North Rothbury

Saturday 2 July at 3.30pm

Pokolbin Community Hall

Pokolbin Community Hall, McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin

Wednesday 3 August at 7.30pm

Weston Civic Centre and Weston Tidy Towns

Private Residence, 18 Second St, Weston

Tuesday 26 July at 12pm

Wollombi Community Hall

Wollombi Community Hall, 2895 Wollombi Road, Wollombi



If you're interested in joining one of these committees, but are unable to attend the meetings, you can apply for membership by completing the below online form.