Australia Day Awards

Each year, we celebrate Australia Day by hosting an awards ceremony to recognise those in our community who make a difference.  

This is a wonderful community event and we encourage everyone to join the celebrations.

The residents of the Cessnock Local Government Area are invited to nominate fellow citizen/s and/or organisations for Cessnock City Australia Day Awards. These awards aim to recognise outstanding achievement during the past year and/or contribution to the local community over a number of years. 


Download the below form for guidelines, conditions and to make a nomination for the 2021 Australia Day Awards.

2021 Australia Day Awards Nomination Form(PDF, 673KB)

2020 Australia Day Award Recipients

  • Citizen of the Year, Melissa Gontier
  • Senior Citizen on the Year, Edgar (Ted) Jackson
  • Young Citizen on the Year, Chelsea Webb
  • Community Event of the Year, Lost Diggers of Weston & Field of Honour
  • Environment Award,Branxton Community Hall Committee
  • Maree Callaghan Award – Young Female Achiever, Trinity Woodhouse
  • Community Award,  Stars of the Hunter Valley (Cancer Council NSW)
  • Community Award, Central Hunter Business Chamber & the Hunter Multi Cultural Community
  • Community Award, Freemasons Cessnock
  • Community Award, Amy Roberts
  • Community Award, Rachel Threadgate
  • Community Award, Amy Butler
  • Community Award, Chloe Steel
  • Community Award, Rose Lucas
  • Community Award, Vincent Plater
  • Community Award, Bethany Dwyer
  • Community Award, Shane Rodger-Wilson
  • Community Award, Kyle Gosper
  • Community Award Olivia Chapman
  • Community Award, Adam Robinson

Previous years

2019 Australia Day Award recipients

  • Citizen of the Year, Geoff Walker
  • Senior Citizen on the Year, Mr John & Mrs Robbie Forsyth
  • Young Citizen on the Year, Cooper Field
  • Community Event of the Year, Kearsley Dawn Service
  • Sport Award, Dorothy Heath
  • Heritage Award, Carl Hoipo
  • Maree Callaghan Award – Young Female Achiever, Olivia Palfreyman
  • Community Award, Dale Goldie
  • Community Award, Kylie Gray
  • Community Award, Lorraine Giddins
  • Community Award, Danny Hoggan