What's On

2016 NSW Local Government Election

The NSW Electoral Commission is required by legislation to conduct the 2016 local council elections on Saturday 10 September, unless advised otherwise. A dedicated website has been launched for those elections. The website address is:  Cessnock Local Government Area elections will be held on Saturday 10 September 2016.

For specific information regarding the Cessnock Local Government Area go to 

Candidate helpdesk - 1300 088 942

Funding, Disclosure, Compliance Hotline - 1300 022 011

Returning Officer-

Ms Vija Graham NSW Electoral Commission Shop 23, 159 John Street, Singleton NSW 2330 Ph: 5553 0980 Fax: 9151 1483 email:




Pre-Poll Voting

Begins on Monday 29 August and ends at 6pm Friday 9 September 2016 ​(Check NSW Electoral Commission Website for confirmation of dates and times)

Pre-poll venues

Branxton Community Hall, 35 Bowen street, Branxton NSW 2335 (from 7 September 2016)

Cessnock Pre-poll, 2171/10 Allandale Road, Cessnock NSW 2325

Kurri Kurri Community Centre, 251 Lang Street, Kurri Kurri NSW 2327

Singleton Region Returning Officer's Office, Shop 23, 159 John Street, Singleton NSW 2330


Election Counts  

From 6.00pm on election night Saturday, 10 September 2016 the following results will be populated on the NSWEC website  

• 1st preference counts for Mayor from each polling place;

• 1st preference counts for Councillor from each polling place; and

• Yes/No results for Referendums from each polling place.  

Some, but not all, pre-poll venues and postal vote results will be also counted in each returning officer’s office on election night and the results populated on the NSWEC website.

The initial counts for the remaining pre-poll venues, postal votes and other declaration vote categories will continue in the returning officer’s office on Election Sunday and up to the close of the receipt of returned postal vote ballot papers at 6.00pm, Monday 12 September. These initial counts will also appear on the NSWEC website.  

The check count and data entry of Councillor ballot papers will take place at the returning officer’s office. The address of these offices can be found here  

The NSWEC Virtual Tally Room (VTR), which will be live from 6.00pm on Election Day, will contain a count schedule detailing the order of the counts in both the returning officer’s office and the Riverwood count centre.

It is anticipated that all counts will be completed and results declared by the close of business Friday, 16 September.