Australia Day 2019

All members of our community are invited to join in on a weekend of celebrations from Friday 25 to Sunday 27 January. We have three days of FREE activities for everyone to enjoy.

We kick off this Aussie bonanza with a screening of the beloved “The Castle” at CPAC on Friday evening. Make sure you grab a seat by 6:30pm.  

On Saturday we begin with a Citizenship Ceremony followed by Australia Day Awards at the East Cessnock Bowling Club from 10am to 12noon.  The official proceedings will be followed by the Mayoral Cup Cricket at East End Oval.

Sunday is time to relax at the Cessnock Pool with free entry from 9am and a BBQ Breakfast.

Come along to a fantastic weekend of family friendly events and celebrate what makes Cessnock such a special place to live. Share your Australia Day moments by tagging photos on Facebook and Twitter with #AustraliaDay and #Cessnock.

Australia Day Awards 2019

Nominations have now closed for the 2019 Australia Day Awards

A number of award categories will be awarded on the day including Citizen of the Year, Senior Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Community Event, Sports, Environment, Heritage, along with Achievement and Appreciation Awards. There is also a new category this year which is the Marie Callaghan Young Female Achiever Award.

Nomination form instructions:

  1.  Download the editable PDF nomination form below and save to your computer. It's important that you complete the nomination form from the saved file on your computer (not in an internet browser).
  2. Complete and submit your nomination by following the instructions at the bottom of the form. 

 Click here to download the 2019 Australia Day Awards guidelines and nomination form. 

2018 Australia Day Award Recipients  

  • Citizen of the Year, Paul Hughes
  • Senior Citizen on the Year, Laurence Ellis
  •  Young Citizen on the Year, Olivia Palfreyman
  •  Community Event of the Year, Cessnock Stomp Festival
  • Environmental Award, Mr Colin Fitzsimons and Mr Pamela Fitzsimons
  • Appreciation Award, Karen Blandon  
  • Appreciation Award, Bryce Gibson
  • Appreciation Award, Sonia Sharpe
  • Appreciation Award, Matthew Orr Appreciation Award, Jordan Fallon